Mar 22, 2023  
2022-2023 Undergraduate Catalog 
2022-2023 Undergraduate Catalog

Department of Political Science, Criminal Justice, and Organizational Leadership

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges

Location: Founders Hall 555
Telephone: 859-572-5321
Fax: 859-572-6184
Email Address:
Web Address:
Department Chair: Karen Miller
Other Key Personnel:

Assistant Department Chair:  Nana Arthur-Mensah
Program Coordinator for Political Science: Ryan Salzman
Program Coordinator for Criminal Justice: Michael Bush
Program Coordinator for Criminal Justice Online: Alexis Miller
Program Director for Organizational Leadership: Jeffrey Zimmerman
Program Coordinator for Organizational Leadership: Amanda Kilmer
Program Coordinator for International Studies: Ryan Salzman
Program Coordinator for BA in Law: Ryan Salzman
Program Coordinator for Pre-Law: Bruce McClure
Program Director for Master of Public Administration: Julie Olberding
Program Coordinator for Master of Public Administration: Missy Gish
Retention Specialist: Aprile Redden
Experiential Learning Coordinator: Rhea Floyd
Academic Coordinator: Margo Wheatley
Secretary: Samra Pilav

Full-Time Faculty: Shamima Ahmed, Nana Arthur-Mensah, Michael Baranowski, Michael Bush, Ada Cenkci, Nicole Dillard, Megan Downing, Rhea Floyd, Amanda Kilmer, Edward Kwon, Erica Jay, Jae-Seung Lee, Bruce McClure, Danielle McDonald, Jonathan McKenzie, Alexis Miller, Marcos Misis, Melissa Moon, Julie Olberding, Kobena Osam, Aprile Redden, Shauna Reilly, Ryan Salzman, Kimberly Weir, Darrin Wilson, Jeffrey Zimmerman

Thinking about the discipline: Majors in these programs prepare students for careers in government (from local to international positions), entry into the private sector, and opportunities in nonprofit organizations. This multidisciplinary department offers students a comprehensive understanding of government, politics, ethics, leadership, and bureaucracy.

Special opportunities for our students: Majors in this department have opportunities to conduct research with faculty and to enroll in independent reading courses to meet their specific or unique intellectual needs. Students have excellent opportunities to intern or co-op at different places including in Frankfort (through the FLIP program) and in Washington, D.C. (through the Washington Center Internship Program). Through its curriculum, the department regularly offers courses for the honors program and service-learning experiences for students. The department advises several student clubs including Xi Omega (political science honor society), Phi Alpha Delta (pre-law honor society), Model United Nations Club, College Democrats, College Republicans, Lambda Alpha Epsilon (American Criminal Justice Association), Alpha Phi Sigma (national criminal justice honor society, and Organizational Leadership Collaborative (organizational leadership student group).

Each year the department holds an awards ceremony to recognize students’ achievements. The department regularly offers study abroad courses that students are encouraged to avail.

You should also know: Students majoring or minoring in any of the programs offered by the Department of Political Science, Criminal Justice, and Organizational Leadership must earn at least a C- in each course counted as part of their program. Students majoring in any of these programs are permitted to reuse no more than 1 course (3 credit hours), from the major, towards a Focus Area or 2 courses (6 hours), from the major towards the minor (where applicable). Students can also complete a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice and organizational leadership in a fully online format.

Interdisciplinary Minors:



    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges